2013 Bow Action

2013 Deer

Halloween week continued to be the lucky time of the year for me again last Saturday.  I had a great hunt, one of my good friends let me hunt on his property Saturday afternoon. I made a long trek down into the woods with a old heavy climber, I was starting to sweat and was no were being as silent as I was wanting. I tried a round of rattling at about five o’clock and was starting to get  uncomfortable in this old stand with seemingly no deer around.  About a half an hour later a doe came running out of a thicket behind me to the left. She crossed behind me and came down wind of me to the right of my stand. I could tell she had a hurt right hind leg when she looked up in my direction, I thought the gig was up and she was about to run off. However she calmed down a bit and continued to walk around in front of me. She continued to look in a different direction from which came unlike she was being followed so I sat back down assuming she was alone. Up until now the rutting activity in this area was not progressing to quickly.  I was not sitting down for more than five minutes when I heard something coming through the woods from where she came.  I turned and seen another deer, and after a few seconds I realized it was a decent buck. I then had to attempt to stand up again without him or the doe who was still out in front of me getting spooked.  I thought he make a B-line to where she was to the left of me but he followed her path and cut behind my tree. When I started to slowly turn 180 degrees to my right he was just about right behind me  and I realized that if I was going to shoot to my right I would need to loosen my safety harness. When I got my harness to break loose it made a little noise and he looked straight at me very sharply, I thought it was all over when he turned and bolted! My stomach sank when all of a sudden he stopped after running about 15 yards. His attention refocused back on the doe he was following and he headed straight towards her again. He started towards her and walked in front of me at about 25 yards, I drew my bow back and when he stepped into the clearing I let an arrow fly I hit him a little high but right in the vitals. I seen him run up a towards a hill which was very strange to me but soon there after I heard him crashing. I took my stand and bow back to my car and got help giving him a little more time. When I headed back down to look for him with my father I didn’t have to even follow a blood tail I seen some white at the base of the hill and found him laying about 50 yards from where I shot it. I was a great evening and I owe it all to my friend and his family for letting me hunt on this land.

Leave a Reply

